The first Sunday following the last day of school is technically the first Sunday of summer. With students living in two counties, my church kids have only 65 days to do all they want to do, or all they don’t want to do before the first day of the next school year.

So with my big silver bucket, the Children’s Moment invites the students to think about their summer bucket list. A bucket list is a written list of things to accomplish before the end of a season. One of my WCKids shared she wants to have a lemonade stand. Another shared she wants to go to Disney World even though her Mom says, ‘It’s not happening.”

I am a list-maker by DNA. There is something therapeutic about a list where everything is marked off. So these are the items I shared with the children at the first Children’s Moment of the summer, partly for the accountability of it:

  • See Despicable Me 3 and Wonder at the movies. If you haven’t had a chance to read Wonder, you are missing out. Be sure to get the one with the extra chapter “Julian”.
  • Watch the sunrise.
  • Go to the pool. I don’t know why this is so hard for me, but my summer is so filled with non-pool things, I can hardly get there. This year with the grands living close by and after two great weeks of swim lesson boot camp, going to the pool is a ‘got-to-do.’
  • Be at VBS….in a tutu….on Tuesday. Yep, gonna make each day something special and we will have Tutu Tuesday at VBS.
  • Do something kind for someone in secret….don’t tell anyone…just do it…at least once a week.
  • Read my bible everyday. I read my bible everyday, but more than just in the morning. Reading the Proverbs chapter that corresponds with the day of the month. I even downloaded the app “She Reads Truth” and starting the 1 & 2 Timothy reading plan with the KidMin Intern Team.
  • Learn something new.

What’s on your summer bucket list?

“Those who plan what is good find love and faithfulness.” Proverbs 14:22b

