I feel I have burned hundreds of calories wrestling with chapter 2 of James: Mercy Triumphs. One of the best parts of the audio CDs given to me by Baby Girl and #2 Son for Christmas is the CD I have in my car. The author recites the Book of James from memory. All of it. Every word. Every paragraph. And with energy. I listen to it before anything else goes into the car CD player every time I get in which is at least twice daily to go and to come home.

I can’t tell you how many times I hit pause after she recites the end of chapter 2. It starts with “What good is it?” Then she says it again, “What good is it?”

“What good is it my brothers (and sisters) if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds?” Is my faith, my belief system, my heart’s desire to wear my “Jesus Girl” hat good for anything? Is it only good for me? Is it only good for my Man? Is it only good for my kids? Is it only good for my …?

James challenges me to demonstrate my faith. But what does that look like?

– a closet full of Christian message tshirts?
– Christian radio in my car?
– Christan CDs in my CD player?
– bookshelves upon bookshelves of Christian lit?
– bags upon bags with Christian messages?
– surround myself with Christian friends?

Good grief, this hurts.

